Everything But the Kitchen Sink Quinoa

I’ve had a bag of quinoa sitting in my pantry for a few months now. I originally bought it for a crockpot recipe (which went horribly awry), but that only used a tiny bit. I wasn’t sure what to do with it for the longest time, despite a friend constantly bragging to me about how awesome quinoa is and how I should be cooking with it. Well, I finally had an opportunity to use it. The other members of my household were eating beef stroganoff, and since I don’t eat red meat, I was on my own. No big deal, except that I get home super late and if I wanted to eat with them, I had to cook something quick, fast, and in a hurry. I threw some stuff together with the hopes that it would be palatable. Not only was it more than palatable, it was super filling and pretty healthy!

I present to you: Everything But the Kitchen Sink Quinoa! (You can thank my dad for that name.)

Let me also preface that I have been using spice mixes purchased from my local farmer’s market. I am going to include links to their website so that you may either purchase it (if you can afford to, it’s super good!) or so that you can get an idea of what’s in it to emulate the taste.

This recipe should yield about 4 servings. They may look small, but trust me, they are more than enough.

Here’s what you’ll need:

1 cup Quick Cook Quinoa

1 Tomato

1 cup Chopped Onion

1 cup Chopped Green Pepper

1-2 cups Chopped and Cooked Chicken

1 tsp Coconut Oil

1 tsp Garlic Flavored Olive Oil OR 1 tsp Olive Oil & 1 clove Diced Garlic

1/2 tbsp Dak’s Original Red

1 tsp Dak’s Kaboom

3 tbsp Alfredo Sauce

Step 1) Cook your Quinoa according to the package directions.

Step 2) While your Quinoa is cooking, melt your Coconut Oil in a medium skillet.

Step 3) Add your Greep Pepper and Onion to the skillet. Cook until vegetables are slightly soft (Note: I used a pre-packaged frozen mix to save time. It is so not cheating to do this. This is supposed to be quick.) (Additional Note: If you are using garlic instead of flavored olive oil, add the garlic on this step.)

Step 4) Slice your Tomato and add the slices to your onion mixture, sauteeing until they become soft.

Step 5) Drizzel your (flavored) Olive Oil over the vegetable mix, stirring it all together.

Step 6) Add your Cooked Chicken to the skillet (Note: Once again, I used pre-cooked, pre-chopped, frozen chicken – straight from the bag to the skillet). Mix and cook until Chicken is heated through.

Step 7) Add your Original Red/Substitue Seasoning to the skillet mixture and mix until food is coated.

Step 8) Drain your Quinoa once it is done cooking, returning it to the pan if you removed it. Add your chicken & vegetable mix to the Quinoa.

Step 9) Add your Alfredo Sauce and Kaboom/Substitue Seasoning to the pot and mix until food is coated.

Step 10) Serve it up!

DSC_0640 [716092].JPG

So I know this looks complicated and like a lot of steps, but I promise it us super quick and super easy. I cooked it in about 15-20 minutes, and it’s enough for me to eat on for multiple meals.

Leave a Reply

