In the Name of the Moon, I Am Addicted – SailorDrops review

Hi, everyone. My name is Allyssa, and I’m addicted to SailorDrops.

What’s SailorDrops, you ask? It’s the love child of Sailor Moon and Bejeweled (okay, fine, Candy Crush, whatever!) that I think deep down I always knew I wanted but never needed.

I’m not a big mobile gamer, but boredom away from home led to browsing the app story. It’s a hard sell to get me to download a mobile game. Usually they have to come pre-recommended by a friend or some such, and so it was that I found myself at a crossroads. What could I download that wouldn’t be a giant waste of my time and data? Maybe that game with a questionable looking lady that claims it is an RPG (it could be)? What about the thing that is almost assuredly a dating sim that is probably poorly written and would only let me play for five minutes before telling me I needed more tickets, which I could either purchase or wait four hours to get three more?

The outlook was bleak, my friends. Bleak! But then I saw her! The smiling face of Sailor Moon, here to right mobile gaming wrong and triumph over the evil of boredom!

tumblr_mxozmpmwvt1t2l4jao1_r1_5001

I’m always up for something Sailor Moon themed, seeing as I owe the nerd I am today to that sailor-suited heroine, so I tapped on it. Behold! I have found myself a Bejeweled clone! I love Bejeweled! So I downloaded it! Fast foreword twenty-four hours, and I’m starting to think I may have developed a serious problem. This ish is addicting!

Gameplay & Visuals

For the most part, gameplay is pretty straight-forward – match some shiny things in a row of three or more and you get points! However, SailorDrops does take a page out of Candy Crush‘s book, and while I protest Candy Crush on a very base level, I can admit they made a few positive changes to traditional Bejeweled. SailorDrops features several items that can help you, different power-ups, and several different types of level challenges. It also features a social aspect, where you can friend people and then send each other items.

Still sounding like just a Candy Crush who likes to cosplay? Well, SailorDrops also has several completely unique aspects. As you play, you unlock different senshi, meaning you get to choose which one you play as. This is more than just an aesthetic thing, as each senshi has a special attack that affects the board in a different way. There are also “boss fights,” in which by destroying blocks of a certain color, you deal damage to the enemy. As the “fight” progresses, you may wind up with fewer and fewer pieces that deal damage, so there is definitely some strategy and additional challenge to it.

Screenshot_2016-05-19-14-12-43 [713794].png

For all the praise I’m giving, that isn’t to say it’s without fault. Loading can be pretty slow. At first, I thought it was just my connection (and I’m sure sometimes it is), but after encountering the problem in multiple places on multiple internet connections, I can say I’m pretty certain that it’s an issue with the game itself.

Story, Characters, & Atmosphere

This is, admittedly, a section with scant to say; however, these things do technically exist, which is more than can be said for most Bejeweled/Candy Crush clones.

As previously stated, you get to choose which of the senshi you wish to use, unlocking more as the story progresses. There are also periphery characters such as Tuxedo Mask and Luna, who offer help from time-to-time, as well as enemies. The story is a very basic following of the original Sailor Moon anime.

Screenshot_2016-05-26-11-11-48 [713795].png

 

Atmospherically, well, there’s not a lot to say, but there is something. The music and sound effects are fairly decent. I play most of my mobile games with the sound off, but I actually just turn the sound on with this one sometimes because it can be cute and enjoyable. There is also some very basic voice acting -all done in Japanese, of course.

Final Thoughts

I’m not one to extol praises onto mobile games. More often than not, I think they serve a very basic function (I’m out in the world and bored senseless with nothing else to read or do), but I’m not prone to the crazes many seem to fall victim to. However, I actually think that as far as mobile games though, this is a great one. Maybe not for its originality, but definitely in its execution. It’s enjoyable, addicting, and totally appeals to my otaku side.

Granted, if it weren’t Sailor Moon, I doubt I’d be quite as addicted. However, it is, so I am. I say if you enjoy Candy Crush or Bejeweled and love Sailor Moon, beware downloading this because you will be so addicted (and plus also, you should friend me at SliceOfNerd if you do download it)!

giphy.gif

4 thoughts on “In the Name of the Moon, I Am Addicted – SailorDrops review

  1. I’ve seen this around and thought it looked interesting. Also the characters look ADORABLE, OH MY GOD.
    Knowing me, it’ll be something nice to distract me. I’ll give it a try… once I get the money together, that is X3

    Like

      1. Oh, it’s free?
        Even better! Thanks for letting me know. 😀
        I’m totally not… gonna let it overtake my life… totally.
        Of course not as much as Sailor Moon Crystal season 3… Michiru and Haruka will forever be goals.

        Like

Leave a Reply

